Works of fiction and poetry by friends of Bamboo Ridge Press.

Guarding the Perimeter
Published by CONNIED | Saturday, November 21, 2009 5:45 PM
They are gearing up for New Year's Eve in November
where ancestral bones lie
Published by LEILANIOLANAI | Thursday, November 19, 2009 10:36 PM
our 'ohana continues to be a part of the breath and soil of Lana'i...
A Love Poem
Published by CONNIED | Monday, November 16, 2009 4:29 PM
Published by CONNIED | Tuesday, November 03, 2009 11:45 PM
Facing Fear
Published by CONNIED | Saturday, October 31, 2009 9:07 PM
Native Tongue
Published by CONNIED | Friday, October 16, 2009 9:17 PM
Haikus for A'ia'i
Published by LEILANIOLANAI | Friday, October 16, 2009 8:51 PM
A birthday makana to a kapa-loving-pounding wahine koa, A'ia'i..,mahalo for the gifts you share with us all.
Published by LEILANIOLANAI | Monday, November 02, 2009 4:01 AM
The vog is a kino lau of Pele,it brings messages as it covers the islands.
Ka Ua Ola O Maunalei
Published by LEILANIOLANAI | Wednesday, October 28, 2009 12:31 AM
for La'akeaomaunalei from Tutu Cooch
Plumbing The Shadows
Published by CONNIED | Sunday, October 25, 2009 1:07 AM
Pulling Weeds
Published by CONNIED | Monday, October 19, 2009 5:10 PM
Father Damien
Published by CONNIED | Saturday, October 10, 2009 5:11 AM
Toad Festival
Published by CONNIED | Thursday, June 25, 2009 3:03 PM
Under the Hua Moon
Published by LEILANIOLANAI | Monday, October 05, 2009 11:15 PM
A gathering of four Hawaiian wahine preparing wauke to pound kapa, practicing mele and 'oli, talking story, remembering all our relations...sharing under the Hua moon.
Hawaii Tracks VOG and other Senryu
Published by CONNIED | Wednesday, June 24, 2009 5:15 AM
September Nights in Kahaluu
Published by CONNIED | Sunday, September 06, 2009 1:48 AM
An Opinion
Published by CONNIED | Tuesday, July 28, 2009 2:14 AM
Feral Chickens
Published by CONNIED | Thursday, July 16, 2009 7:07 PM
Submarine Watch
Published by CONNIED | Wednesday, June 24, 2009 5:18 AM
Intimate Moments
Published by CONNIED | Friday, July 10, 2009 12:21 AM
Published by WILL | Thursday, July 02, 2009 1:24 AM
Dedicated to Neda Agha Soltan who was murdered in Tehran, Iran on June 20, 2009
Rock and Plant Writing Exercise
Published by CMAK15 | Monday, June 29, 2009 3:45 AM
"Orchids, ti leaves, and plumerias all craving for my attention." "It dances, like a fairy, to the music of a million flowers."
Published by MARIZ | Saturday, May 30, 2009 3:20 AM
A response to the last renshi. This one line kept buzzing around in my head about 'nasty girls like wasps'. I wrote it down somewhere and it has finally found a place in this poem.
From Someone Else's Dream
Published by KRISTEL | Thursday, January 22, 2009 8:12 PM
The stranger sang a theme
God Like Fo' Talk Pidgin
Published by KACIE | Monday, November 17, 2008 12:33 AM
Published by LEILANIOLANAI | Sunday, November 16, 2008 8:16 PM
more mana'o for this time of year - Makahiki. Time to reap the fruits of a good harvest (a good year or good works)and to enjoy life! Lonoikamakahiki!
Published by FOUR | Sunday, November 16, 2008 7:44 PM
Birthday poem that just kind of spilt out as I sat at my desk at work.
The Journal That I Keep
Published by FOUR | Sunday, November 16, 2008 3:43 PM
Published by FOUR | Sunday, November 16, 2008 7:36 PM
Watching my roommate draw, she literally sniffed the colored pencils to tell the colors apart. Also she can't cook for sh*t.
Guava Jelly
Published by KACIE | Saturday, November 15, 2008 5:39 PM
Published by KACIE | Wednesday, November 12, 2008 10:47 PM
Spitting Caves With You
Published by KACIE | Monday, November 10, 2008 10:06 PM
Published by LEILANIOLANAI | Sunday, November 09, 2008 10:17 PM
The Makali'i will rise in the sky soon signifying the time of Makahiki. These haikus written some years ago recall that observance on Kaho'olawe.
Published by LEILANIOLANAI | Sunday, November 09, 2008 9:56 PM
This is in memory of Wendy Machado...died 10-01-08...go in peace.
Published by LEILANIOLANAI | Sunday, November 09, 2008 9:38 PM
This is a birthday poem written last year for my grandson La'akeaomaunalei. It evokes places on Lana'i - where part of his name comes from the clouds (maunalei) that converge each afternoon over the island.
End of (a) Time
Published by STEFAN | Friday, October 10, 2008 7:28 AM
DOWNPOUR By Will Espero
Published by WILL | Tuesday, October 07, 2008 10:32 AM
Here is my attempt to capture the power of nature in words.
Published by KONABERRY | Saturday, August 16, 2008 8:19 PM
Tutu's Garden
Published by PLEOPARD | Monday, May 19, 2008 3:13 PM
Eight chosen lines(or pieces of them) from a gathering of 53 submitted by festival goers on Sunday. Their names and lines as submitted follow the poem. And you said you couldn't write poetry!
Places that Once Were
Published by AVAJADE7 | Wednesday, June 25, 2008 12:31 AM
Inspired from the many stories my father used to tell me.
Published by KRISTINESENDY | Sunday, June 22, 2008 11:57 PM
Behind the fragile countenance Amidst the plaintive eyes Despite the ponderous load It's a wonder why she's as gentle and mild
Published by KRISTINESENDY | Sunday, June 22, 2008 11:56 PM
even without wings i am free- to forget what is hurting to me; even without wings i can fly- to soar above pains
Published by KRISTINESENDY | Sunday, June 22, 2008 11:55 PM
Like a newly-caught fish brought ashore, Here I am gasping for breath..
Published by KRISTINESENDY | Saturday, June 07, 2008 11:31 AM
I was on an indefinite hiatus from December 21, 2008 due to unforeseen was another difficult phase in my life...but then again, on January 30, 2008, here I come slowly getting out of my self-made cocoon....
Published by JUJUBE | Monday, May 19, 2008 9:45 AM
This is a poem from some of Sunday's lines.
Published by ANN INOSHITA | Saturday, May 17, 2008 9:32 PM
This poem was born on the day of the Saturday festival from the lines of eight writers. Below are the original lines followed by the final poem.
Published by JEAN TOYAMA | Saturday, May 17, 2008 4:58 PM
Here is the poem created from today's (Saturday) festival based on the lines provided by seven writers. Their original lines precede my poem.